Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi proceed previous Haryana, Tamil Nadu beat Gujarat – Hindustan Cases

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi proceed previous Haryana, Tamil Nadu beat Gujarat – Hindustan Cases

Spinners and an unbeaten 56 from Anuj Rawat helped Delhi total an emphatic seven-wicket decide over Haryana in a Crew B match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Wednesday. Spinners Manan Sharma (3/39) and Nitish Rana (2/19) took the vast majority of the wickets as Delhi brushed off Haryana for 172 in 45.3 overs after opting to bowl. Although huge identify player Shikhar Dhawan (26 off 42) fell cheaply for the fourth time in 5 innings, Delhi raced to the blueprint in 30.3 overs with Rawat and Rana (27 now not out off 21) taking the crew home.

Rawat smashed four boundaries and as many sixes in his tantalizing knock. Opener Kunwar Bidhuri struck 43 off 34 balls to invent the modest plod considerable more tickled and shared a 61-walk stand with Dhawan.

It used to be Delhi’s fourth decide in seven games with one now not producing a consequence. Out of the 19 teams competing in Crew A and B, simplest 5 qualify for the quarterfinals. The Crew B fixtures were affected badly by rain earlier this month. Delhi play their final league fixture in opposition to Himachal Pradesh on Thursday.

In other Crew B games, Punjab beat Maharashtra by six wickets and Uttar Pradesh defeated Odisha by 5 wickets.

TN beats Gujarat, makes it 9 successive wins in Crew C

Tamil Nadu thrashed Gujarat by 78 runs in its final Crew ‘C’ match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy right here on Wednesday to enact with an all-decide file in the 10-crew community. Tamil Nadu, who topped the community with 36 points from 9 games and second-placed Gujarat (32 points) qualified for the knockout fragment to be held in Bengaluru from October 20. Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel obtained the toss and keep Tamil Nadu in to bat and seen the skilled Abhinav Mukund (79, 68 balls, 13 fours) and Murali Vijay (94, 106 balls, 8 fours, 2 sixes) rattle up 130 for the principle wicket.

Mukund, who has been in apt create for Tamil Nadu thru the tournament, came up with some absorbing drives whereas Vijay used to be his fashioned neat self and wasn’t nervous to hit the ball in the air. The outlet partnership, which threatened to procure harmful proportions, used to be damaged by the skilled leggie Piyush Chawla, who had Mukund stumped by Parthiv.

All-rounder Washington Sundar, pushed up the describe, made 42 (65 balls, 2 fours) and added 82 runs for the second wicket with Vijay.

On the different hand, Tamil Nadu suffered a jolt, shedding Vijay and the prolific skipper Dinesh Karthik (0) in rapid succession.

Whereas Arzan Rohinton Nagwaswalla ended Vijay’s terminate by having him caught by T R Patel, Karthik used to be walk out by Bustle Kalaria off the principle ball he confronted.

Barring a partnership of 43 runs between all-rounder Vijay Shankar (23, 28 balls, 1 six) and the in-create Baba Aparajith (25, 22 balls, 1 four, 2 sixes), the Tamil Nadu decrease describe fell aside.

From 268 for 4, Gujarat bowlers did wisely to restrict Tamil Nadu to 274 for 9 in 50 overs. Left-arm pacer Kalaria used to be the wonderful of the lot, finishing with 3 for 36 from 7 overs whereas Chawla took 2 for 47.

Nagwaswalla ended with 3 for 56 from 9 overs. Faced with the duty of making 280 to enact with 9 wins from 9 games, Gujarat seen two of its most effective batsmsen – Parthiv Patel (6) and Priyank Panchal plunge early. Whereas left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore had Parthiv caught by Washington Sundar, Panchal used to be caught in the aid of by Karthik off Vijay Shankar’s bowling for 12 (11 balls, 1 four). Bhargav Merai (44) played aggressively and hit a few wonderful shots and his 50-walk third wicket partnership with Manprit Juneja (24) regarded as if it would possibly perchance probably perchance perchance revive Gujarat’s hopes.

Juneja grew to change into the principle of M Mohammed’s three victims sooner than Merai used to be walk out by Mukund. Left-hander Axar Patel (55, 55 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes) resisted Tamil Nadu’s surge. Leg-spinner Murugan Ashwin (2/35) castled Nagwaswalla (4) to terminate Gujarat’s innings at 196. Within the different matches of the day, Madhya Pradesh beat Rajasthan by six wickets and Tripura keep it across Bihar.

First Printed:
Oct 16, 2019 22: 07 IST

Read More

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.