FIFA The Simplest Football Awards: Lionel Messi Beats Cristiano Ronaldo to Protect shut Player of the Yr, Megan Rapi… – News18

FIFA The Simplest Football Awards: Lionel Messi Beats Cristiano Ronaldo to Protect shut Player of the Yr, Megan Rapi… – News18

FIFA The Best Football Awards: Lionel Messi Beats Cristiano Ronaldo to Win Player of the Year, Megan Rapinoe Bags Women's Honour
Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe obtained the tip prize at FIFA The Simplest Awards. (Characterize Credit score: FIFA)

Milan:Lionel Messi obtained the FIFA Males’s Player of the Yr award on Monday inFIFA The Simplest Football Awardsat La Scala opera dwelling in Milan whereas Megan Rapinoe took the girls’s prize to cap a historic year for the United States’ World Cup icon.

Barcelona forward Messi’s victory in Milan became a surprise as he edged out Virgil Van Dijk, who obtained the UEFA player’s award closing month after helping Liverpool to the Champions League closing season.

With the Champions League in the web and the UEFA International locations League final to his title, van Dijk became believed to be the frontrunner for the award nonetheless it sprung a surprise as Messi took the honours. Every Messi and van Dijk are in the operating for the coveted Ballon d’Or that might perchance well be presented on December 2.


— #TheBest (@FIFAcom)September 23, 2019

Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo had moreover been shortlisted for the award.

Rapinoe, on the quite quite loads of hand, beat fellow World Cup winner Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze to the girls’s title. The 34-year-broken-down obtained the Golden Boot for being top scorer and the Golden Ball for the final notice player at the World Cup, and moreover grew to turn out to be the face of the tournament for her outspoken views on US president Donald Trump.

Rapinoe’s award-successful speech became no varied as she spoke her mind and picked up linked points to take care of as soon as again, asking each person to act on the things that undoubtedly subject.

“A pair of of the tales that dangle inspired me this year. Raheem Sterling and Koulibaly – their unprecedented performances on the self-discipline, but the formula they’ve taken on the disgusting racism that they’ve to face. The Iranian girl who finally jam herself on fire. The LGBQT gamers who fight homophobia. These are the tales that inspire me but moreover produce me unhappy.

“If we decide on commerce, each person has to make contributions. I dangle to stare folks varied than Sterling and Koulibaly as outraged about racism. Other folks varied than LGBQT crew outraged about homophobia. To all folks right here, Lend your platform to others, steal them up, piece your success.


— FIFA Ladies’s World Cup (@FIFAWWC)September 23, 2019

“We dangle got a irregular replacement in soccer, varied to any varied sport on this planet, to make speak of this comely recreation to undoubtedly commerce the realm for the upper. So that’s my torch to each person, I’m hoping you have interaction that to heart and end something, end anything else. We dangle got fantastic energy on this room,” Rapinoe talked about.

List of your total winners at FIFA’s The Simplest Awards ceremony:

Simplest males’s player:Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

Simplest girls’s player:Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Simplest males’s goalkeeper:Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)

Simplest girls’s goalkeeper:Sari van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid)

Males’s World 11 crew of year:Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool); Sergio Ramos (ESP/Proper Madrid), Virgil Van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Matthijs De Ligt (NED/Juventus), Marcelo (BRA/Proper Madrid); Luka Modric (CRO/Proper Madrid), Frenkie De Jong (NED/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (BEL/Proper Madrid); Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)

Ladies’s World 11 crew of year:Sari Van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid); Lucy Bronze (ENG/Lyon), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Kelly O’Hara (USA/Utah Royals); Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago), Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington); Marta (BRA/Orlando), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Males’s coach:Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Ladies’s coach:Jill Ellis (USA)

Puskas Award ultimate blueprint:Daniel Zsori (HUN/Debrecen)

Pretty-play award:Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United

(With AFP inputs)

Acquire the upper of News18 dropped at your inbox –subscribe to News18 Spoil of day. Observe onTwitter,Instagram,Fb, Telegram,TikTokand onYouTube, and quit in the know with what’s taking place on this planet round you – in staunch time.

Read Extra

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.