EC publicizes bypolls to six Rajya Sabha seats

    EC publicizes bypolls to six Rajya Sabha seats

    NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Saturday announced bypolls to six

    Rajya Sabha

    seats on July 5, collectively with the one vacated by BJP chief

    Amit Shah

    following his election to the Lok Sabha.

    Notifications will likely be issued on June 18 and elections and counting of votes will likely be held on July 5.

    In an announcement, the commission clarified that the vacancies for bypolls to all Properties, collectively with the Rajya Sabha, are thought of “separate vacancies” and separate notifications are issued and separate polls are held, although the time table will more than likely be the same.

    It cited two Delhi high court docket rulings of 1994 and 2009 which had supported the system of retaining separate bypolls in the same narrate under provisions of the Representation of the Other folks Act.

    The Congress had demanded that the bypolls to the 2 vacant seats in


    be held collectively as it felt that it would possibly perhaps perchance perhaps well also desire one amongst the 2 Rajya Sabha seats vacated by Shah and Union minister

    Smriti Irani


    The Congress felt that in case of separate elections, the BJP would absorb a bonus as it’s the ruling event and it would possibly perhaps perchance perhaps well desire each the seats.

    The Gujarat seats fell vacant after Shah obtained from Gandhinagar and Irani from Amethi Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

    The different seats for which bypolls had been announced are one vacated by Union minister

    Ravi Shankar Prasad

    (Bihar) and Achuytananda Samanta (Odisha) following their election to the Lok Sabha.

    The Rajya Sabha bypolls will furthermore be held on two extra seats from Odisha. While one became as soon as vacated by Pratap Kesari Deb who bought elected to the narrate assembly and

    Soumya Ranjan Patnaik

    who resigned.

    Be taught Extra

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.