Bypolls to 51 assembly, 2 LS constituencies across 17 states, 1 UT today

    Bypolls to 51 assembly, 2 LS constituencies across 17 states, 1 UT today

    Bypolls can be held in as many as 51 assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies unfold across 18 states on Monday.

    The BJP and its allies had virtually about 30 of these assembly seats, while the Congress had received 12 and the remaining were with regional parties.

    Amongst the states ruled by the BJP and its allies, the maximum 11 seats might perhaps presumably absorb bypolls in Uttar Pradesh, followed by six in Gujarat, five in Bihar, four in Assam and two every in Himachal Pradesh and Tamil Nadu.

    The opposite states where bypolls can be held are Punjab (4 seats), Kerala (5 seats), Sikkim (3 seats), Rajasthan (two seats) and one seat every in Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry, Meghalaya and Telangana.

    The bid is coinciding with assembly elections in Haryana and Maharashtra, the first main elections after the BJP retained vitality in the Lok Sabha polls in April-Would possibly perhaps presumably a hit 303 seats out of 543.

    In politically most critical Uttar Pradesh, the polls are viewed as a litmus take a look at for the Yogi Adityanath govt which has accomplished 30 months in office.

    It’s a four-cornered contest with the BJP, Bahujan Samaj Celebration (BSP), Samajwadi Celebration (SP) and Congress fielding candidates on all 11 assembly seats.

    Eight of these seats were held earlier by the BJP and one by BJP ally Apna Dal (Sonelal). The seats of Rampur and Jalalpur (Ambedkarnagar) were held by the Samajwadi Celebration and Bahujan Samaj Celebration, respectively The Congress is hoping to consolidate its thin majority in Rajasthan by wresting the 2 seats from the BJP and its ally RLP. Of the 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan, the Congress has 106 MLAs, at the side of the six who defected to the birthday party from the BSP now no longer too lengthy ago The AIADMK and DMK are locked in a fervent contest in Vikravandi and Nanguneri Meeting seats in Tami Nadu.

    Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang is contesting from Poklok Kamrang constitueny, one of the most three seats where bypolls can be held in the suppose. Tamang aka Golay is the president of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), which has tied up with the BJP.

    Passe Indian soccer crew captain Bhaichung Bhutia is contesting from Gangtok on Hamro Sikkim Celebration (HSP) designate.

    First Published:
    Oct 21, 2019 06: 09 IST

    Read More

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.